2017 Pro Kabaddi League season

The 2017 Pro Kabaddi League season is the fifth season of Pro Kabaddi League, a professional kabaddi league in India since 2014. It is organised by Mashal Sports and Star India. This season includes 12 teams after the inclusion of four new teams from Uttar Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Haryana and Gujarat.


Auctions for the new season were held in May, before which the existing teams were allowed to retain one player each. The auction saw over 400 players go under the hammer and a total of Rs 46.99 crore spent by the 12 franchises.

The most expensive pick of the auction was raider Nitin Tomar, who was bought by the new UP franchise for a sum of Rs 93 lakh. Following in second place was Rohit Kumar after the Bengaluru Bulls picked him for a Rs 81 lakh price. The most expensive foreign player was South Korea’s Jang Kun Lee after he was retained by the Bengal Warriors for Rs 80.3 lakhs.

Opening ceremony

The opening ceremony is held on the first match of every leg in each stadium. This is similar to that of IPL 2017. It is done so to highlight the importance of the tradition and culture all over the country.


  • Bengal Warriors
  • Bengaluru Bulls
  • Dabang Delhi KC 
  • Jaipur Pink Panthers
  • Patna Pirates
  • Puneri Paltan
  • Telugu Titans
  • U Mumba
  • Fortune Giants
  • UP Yoddha
  • Tamil Thalaivas
  • Haryana Steelers
  • Kolkata
  • Bengaluru
  • Delhi
  • Jaipur
  • Patna
  • Pune
  • Hyderabad
  • Mumbai
  • Ahmadabad
  • Lucknow
  • Chennai
  • Sonipat


Personnel & kit

TeamsOwnersCaptainHead coachMain SponsorBack Sponsor
Bengal WarriorsBirthright Games & Entertainment Private LimitedSurjeet SinghJagdish Kumble  
Bengaluru BullsWL League Pvt. Ltd.Rohit KumarRandhir Singh 
Dabang Delhi KCMrs Radha Kapoor KhannaMeraj SheykhDr. Ramesh BhendigiriISDIISME
Jaipur Pink PanthersAbhishek BachchanManjeet ChillarBalwan SinghFinolex CablesLux Cozi
Patna PiratesRajesh V. ShahPardeep NarwalRam Meher SinghBirla Gold Premium CementJohnson
Puneri PaltanInsurekot SportsDeepak Niwas HoodaBC RameshForce Motors 
Telugu TitansVeera SportsRahul ChaudhariNaveen KumarGreenkoTVS Tyres
U MumbaRonnie ScrewvalaAnup KumarBhaskaran Edacherry  
Tamil ThalaivasIquest Enterprises Pvt. Ltd. & Blasters Sports Ventures Pvt. Ltd.Ajay ThakurK BaskaranMuthoot Fincorp IndiaMaha Cement
Gujarat Fortune GiantsMr. Gautam AdaniSukesh HegdeManpreet SinghAdaniSimpolo
Haryana SteelersJSW GroupSurender NadaRambir Singh KhokharKent RO 
UP YoddhaGMR League Games Pvt. Ltd.Nitin TomarJ. Udaya KumarTata YodhaKarbonn


  • Vivo
  • TVS
  • Bajaj
  • Mutual Funds Sahi hai!
  • Gillette Mach3 Turbo
  • Nissin
  • Royal challenge Sports Drink
  • RR Kabel

Rules and Regulations

The 12 teams are divided into two zones of six each. Each team plays a total of 22 matches in the league stage:

  1. Teams from the same zone play each other thrice, totalling 15 matches in the zone.
  2. Then, a team will play an additional of 6 matches with the teams from the other zone. (Each team plays other team from the other zone once). These 6 inter-zone matches for each team will be held on three different weeks. These weeks are known as inter-zone challenge weeks and the respective weeks are:

  • 1st: August 15th-August 20th
  • 2nd: September 5th-September 10th
  • 3rd: September 26th-October 1st
  1. Then, each team plays one wild card match which is an additional inter-zone match in the penultimate week, selected by a random mid-season draw, totalling 22 matches in the league stage.

The top three teams from each zone qualify for the super playoffs and compete for the title

Leave a Reply